NCAA Division III Indoor Championship Coverage

Men's results » Women's results

Ryan Bak of Trinity won the 5,000-meter run in 14:30.61 (Marilyn Culler)

Greencastle, Ind. (3-15-03) - The Wheaton (Mass.) College women claimed their fifth straight national championship, while the University of Wis.-La Crosse men won their third straight at the NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships at DePauw University.

The fifth straight championship extended Wheaton's Division III record string in only the ninth season of the program. The championship for Wis.-La Crosse was its 10th overall.

Wheaton won the women's competition with 54 points to runner-up Lehman's 48. Williams finished with 42 followed by Wis.-Oshkosh with 41.

Wis.-La Crosse took first on the men's side with a Division III Championships record 71 points followed by Wis.-Oshkosh with 34 for the widest margin in Division III Championships history. Nebraska Wesleyan was third with 27 points and Gustavus Adolphus was fourth with 23.

Wis.-La Crosse's Andrew Rock was named the meet's male runner of the meet by the United States Track Coaches Association, while Missy Buttry of Wartburg earned the female runner of the meet.

Luke Speltz of Gustavus Adolphus earned the male field athlete of the meet award, while Healy Thompson of Williams was the female athlete of the meet.

Overall, Division III Championships records were established in two men's and seven women's events. Additionally, 20 DePauw Indoor Tennis and Track Center records were established including 13 women's marks and seven on the men's side.