Early Oregon Results

The girls’ distance races highlighted the early activity on Friday with the 6A race being of exceptional quality.  Erin Clark of South Eugene was the defending champion in the event and, although she improved upon last year’s mark by ten seconds she could not take the measure of Paige Rice.   Losing to Rice, however, is hardly to be deemed a failure for Paige’s time of 9:49 is of exceptional quality.  Her winning mark of 9:49 was not far off of the record set by Kim Roth in 1981 of 9:46:  a mark that has rarely been approached.   Placing third in 9:56 was Paige Kouba of South Eugene making it three runners under ten minutes.  Placing fourth and just missing the magic number was Parkes Kendrick of Grant, who ran a fine 10:00.18.  Sheldon’s Maggie Schmaedick placed fifth in 10:03 and was followed by Sarah Hastings of Crater, who ran 10:06.  Claire DeVoe of Lincoln led the next pack of runners with her 7th place finish in 10:12 and Kelly O’Neill of Lakeridge, Adrienne Demaree of Jesuit, Kennedy Martin of Gresham and Alexandra Cross of Tualatin rounded out the top eleven.

      The 5A race saw Shannon Susbauer of Milwaukie and Morgan Anderson draw away from defending champion Megan Fristoe of Summit.   Both Susbauer and Anderson have shown great improvement and there was little separating the pair at the end but Susbauer claimed the victory with 10:0539 to 10:05.48.  Fristoe was clocked in 10:12, as she finished just ahead of her freshman team mate Piper McDonald, who ran 10:18.  Mary Kate McGuire of Dallas earned fifth with a time of 10:28.  Emma Wren (10:32) of Cleveland and Kelsey Hiltsentger of Putnam (10:35) followed in 6th & 7th.

      Alisha Luna successfully defended her 4A title with a time of 10:22, which gave her a safe margin of victory over Amanda Welch of La Grande, who ran 10:37.  Katy Potter of Siuslaw was only two seconds behind her in third.  Nevina DeLuca (10:45) of Phoenix and Tia Carnahan of Scappoose (10:46) garnered fourth & fifth,  while Frances Payne of Sisters finished sixth in 10:47.

       Early results from the Field showed a fine battle between Makena Schroeder of Sandy and Stephanie Wells of Silverton in the 5A Javelin.  Wells had the lead early with 147-05 but the defending champion Schroeder took the lead and the championship on her fourth throw of 147-05.   Crystal Schmidt of Hermiston secured third with her throw of 125-05.

       The 6A girls javelin did not disappoint.  Oregon has had numerous strong marks in the javelin this year including Gresham's Haley Crouser's national record at the Aloha Relays.  Although Haley did not throw a state record, she won the event with a very fine mark of 170-11.  Kaylie Van Loo of Glencoe was second with 150-08.  Justine Rennekamp of Beaverton was third with 146-10.  Placing 4th through 6th were Kyleigh Young of Lakeridge with 138-06, Kerry Wright of Sunset with 137-09, and Tayler Feinauer of Glencoe with 130-0.

    Rachel Proteau of West Albany defended her title in the 5A High Jump with a leap of 5-07.

    Many people expect the larger schools to produce the fastest times.  This year, the fastest time in the guy's 3000 was from the 4A division.  Brett Willard of Seaside won with a fine time of 8:38.14.  Paul Adams, the XC champion, of Mazama earned second with 8:47.33.  Fourth and fifth were Zorg Loustalet of Henley with 8:53.48 and Matthew Campbell of Siuslaw with 8:57.23. 

    The 5A boys 3000 had 2 scorers each from Summit, Franklin, and Hermiston.  Eric Alldritt of Summit won a close race with a winning time of 8:44.38.  Akihura Kigawa of Wilsonville was a half second behine.  Third was Ryan Byrd of St. Helens with 8:46.35.  Fourth through eighth were Fletcher Hazelhurst of Frankin (8:48.89), Matthew Maton of Summit (8:51.82), Jackson Baker of Franklin (8:52.38), Eduardo Juarez of Hermiston (8:56.73), and Jose Macias also of Hermiston (9:00.29).

    The 6A boys 3000 was a close finish with the top 3 finishers separated by 1.02 seconds.  Dan Oekerman of Beaverton won with 8:40.16 while Julian Heninger of Lakeridge was .01 seconds behind.  Both are juniors, so they should be back next year.  Brian Eimstad of South Eugene was third in 8:41.18.  Like the 5A race, 3 teams had 2 scorers each.  Fourth through eighth were David Leavy of Jesuit (8:53.02), Jack Wilson of South Eugene (8:55.16), Tanner Smith of Lincoln (8:57.05), Brian McDavitt of Jesuit (8:57.32), and Mubark Mebrat of Lakeridge (8:57.35).